Quote of the Month

When love and skill work together, expect a miracle. John Ruskin

Saturday, June 16, 2012

Twitterville Talk #53

Summer may be in full swing but nothing, not even the sunny weather, can slow down the world of books, reading, libraries nor new technology trends on Twitter.

Believe it or not these pieces of art are:  Stacked Book Sculptures by Jonathan Callan.

Thanks to Shelf Awareness for the tweet.

For fans of The Strange Case of Origami Yoda, Darth Paper Strikes Back and the upcoming The Secret of the Fortune Wookiee all by Tom Angleberger,  check out this animation at the Origami Yoda site courtesy of same.

There are some excellent titles shown here:  Discover the Guardian children's fiction prize 2012 longlist-gallery. 

Reading Rocket unveils new summer reading website:  Start with a Book!  This looks like an interesting site to consider.

Enjoy All 3 National Ambassadors for Young People's Literature Appear on 100th Episode of Children's Book Podcast, Brain Burps.

Neil Gaiman Reads 'The Man Who Forgot Ray BradburyThis will be the best 13 minutes you spend all week.  Neil Gaiman is a phenomenal artist.

Thanks to The Children's Book Council for these tweets.

Rafael Lopez has created the poster for this year's National Book Festival to be held in Washington, D. C. September 22-23, 2012.

John Schumacher of Watch. Connect. Read. provided the tweet.

Incredible artwork from inside a book, New Carved Book Landscapes by Guy Laramee.  Of course, I have always believed there is something special for everyone inside the right book.

Thanks to Ellen Potter, the author of The Humming Room, for this retweet.

This next link is from a retweet whose source I neglected to note.  What I do know is the next time money falls from the sky I must, must, must have one of these, A Tent That Looks Like a BookThe site says there are only 59 left out of 195. 

On March 9, 2012 I posted a review for the new book, Z is for Moose by Kelly Bingham, illustrated by Paul O. Zelinsky.  This week a new book trailer was released at A Fuse #8 Production.

Thanks to HarperChildrens for the tweet.

Here is an impressive list, Notable Children's Books Nominees-Summer 2012.  While I have read many of them I need to get busy to see how many more I can read this summer.

Walking the Storywalk is a fantastic idea.

Thanks to the ALSC blog for these tweets.

Place this tweet in the unbelievable category---Outdoor library! Bookyard-an Expansive Outdoor Public Library by Massimo Bartolini.

Be sure to view Books On Film:  The Dr. Seuss Biography.

Travis Jonker of 100 Scope Notes provided these tweets.

Enjoy this article on An Unquiet History of Libraries and Navigating Knowledge, from Alexandria to the Internet.

These examples An Interactive Mind Map Made With Thinglink are amazing.

Thanks to Richard Byrne of Free Technology for Teachers for these tweets.

For the very first time a single title has won both the 2012 Kate Greenaway Medal and the Carnegie Medal, A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness with illustrations by Jim Kay.  My review is linked here.

No comments:

Post a Comment