Quote of the Month

When love and skill work together, expect a miracle. John Ruskin

Saturday, October 26, 2013

Twitterville Talk #123

Online chats, tweets about festivals, conferences and classroom activities keep Twitter streaming with nonstop professional development.  Book recommendations, commentary and publisher previews keep our TBR piles ever growing.  Authors and illustrators support and encourage one another each and every day.  It's an amazing community.  Enjoy what I was able to gather.  Have a restful weekend.  Take time for reading.  Look for the giveaways.

Lots of educators have been talking about and flipping their classrooms.  This is a very comprehensive post, The flipping librarian.

Thanks to Joyce Valenza, teacher librarian and blogger at NeverEnding Search for this post and tweet.

Last year I was fortunate to win a contest at author Lynda Mullaly Hunt's blog.  With a grant we purchased a copy of her book, One for the Murphys, for every single student in our fifth grade.  After the class read was completed we spent a wonderful afternoon Skyping with Lynda Mullaly Hunt.  October is National Bullying Prevention Month.  This week on her blog Lynda Mullaly Hunt posted this, An Iron Whisper.  Please read it.

Thanks for this post and tweet go out to Lynda Mullaly Hunt.

Here are a couple of timely articles posted on SmartBrief this past week, The power of lurking and Integration of information literacy into the curriculum: Changing students' relationships with the school librarian.

Thanks to educator and author of The Book Whisperer: Awakening the Inner Reader in Every Child and Reading in the Wild: The Book Whisperer's Keys to Cultivating Lifelong Reading Habits, Donalyn Miller for these tweets.

The National Council of Teachers of English hosted a chat to celebrate the National Day of Writing.  Here is the link to the archive of that chat.

Thanks to the NCTE for this tweet.

Heads up!  This article is important, Do Your Students Know How To Search?

Thanks for this tweet goes to teacher librarian and blogger at Hale Kula Library, Michelle Colte.

Here come the book trailers!  This is where we get the latest on book releases.  This is where we get to listen to authors and illustrators talk about their work.

If you missed the #SharpSchu Book Club this week, follow this link to the archive and additional resources.

Great ideas for Halloween costumes---Be The Book this Halloween!

November is Picture Book Month.  Get all the information at links here, here, here, here, here and here, to help you celebrate.

Author Tad Hills offers tips on making your own Halloween costumes.

The Canadian Children's Book Centre Announces the Winners of the 2013 Canadian Children's Literature Awards.
To the first person who can tell me the Michigan city where this year's winner grew up, I will send a copy of Battle Bunny by Jon Scieszka and Mac Barnett with illustrations by Matthew Myers.  Please leave your answer in the comments below or send me a DM on Twitter. (This title has been won.)

Thanks for this week's tweets go to John Schumacher, teacher librarian, 2011 Library Journal Movers & Shakers, 2014 Newbery Medal Committee member, co-host of the monthly #SharpSchu book club and blogger at Watch. Connect. Read.

This week, Meet the artist: Kazu Kibuishi, is showcased as part of The Art of Read Every Day campaign at Scholastic.  There are plenty of resources linked here to be used in an author illustrator study.

Thanks to Scholastic Teachers for this tweet.

The readers have spoken; 2013 Teens' Top Ten have been chosen.

Thanks to the Youth Adult Library Services Association for this tweet.

I have devices to be able to read electronically but I will probably always favor print.  This article made me smile, Why I've Gone Back to Print.

Thanks to HuffPost Books for this tweet.

As part of a special series, Keys to the Whole World: American Public Libraries, listen to/read this article, Turning A Page In A Rural One-Room Library

Thanks to author Lisa Yee for this tweet.

This week Greg Pizzoli, author of The Watermelon Seed, is interviewed at Let's Get Busy.  

Thanks to Matthew C. Winner, elementary library media specialist, co-founder of #levelupbc, 2013 Library Journal Movers & Shakers Tech Leader and blogger at The Busy Librarian for this tweet and weekly podcast.

The speech that is still winging its way over social media can now not only be read in its entirety but we can listen to the Neil Gaiman lecture in full: Reading and obligation.

Thanks to The Reading Agency for this tweet.

What will they think of next?  Paper Generators: Harvesting Energy from Touching, Rubbing & Sliding

Thanks to author Adam Rubin (Secret Pizza Party) for this tweet.

His book is listed as one of the National Book Award finalists, 'Boxers & Saints' & Compassion: Questions for Gene Luen Yang

Thanks to NPR Books for this tweet.

Cool Bookish Places: Bookworm Gardens in Sheboygan, Wisconsin, looks like a magical place.

Dear Mr. Watterson, Let's Go Exploring! is the title of an article about the documentary.  It's a must see for fans of Calvin & Hobbes.

Book-O-Lanterns! is a Halloween salute to literature. 

Thanks to Book Riot for these tweets.

Thankfully there is no end to this kind of goodness---Little, Brown Spring Kids|Preview Peek.

This is amazing---Kid Lit Authors Ask White House to Ease Standardized Testing Mandates.

Thank to School Library Journal for these tweets.

There were blank pages in The New York Times this week.  Follow this link to see and hear why this was not a mistake.
To the first person who can tell me why the pages were blank, I will send a copy of No Fits, Nilson! by Zachariah OHora.  Please send me a DM on Twitter or leave your answer in the comments below.

Thanks to Random House Kids for this tweet.

This looks like a delightful book, Dream Animals.

Thanks to Colby Sharp, educator, co-host of the monthly #SharpSchu Book Club, co-host of the monthly #titletalk, co-founder of the Nerdy Book Club and blogger at sharpread, for this tweet.

The titles have been chosen for World Book Night US: April 23, 2014.  I am thrilled with some of the titles.

Thanks to The Horn Book for this tweet.

For fans of the Marty McGuire books and participants in the Global Read Aloud, Marty McGuire Global Read Aloud Video Q & A--Week 3 is up on her blog.

Thanks to author Kate Messner for this great opportunity and for this post.

This is informational, unusual and a little bit scary---ARKive's Trick or Treat Quiz

Thanks to ARKive for this tweet.

If you've ever wanted to try this terrific web 2.0 tool, ThingLink, check out all the resources listed here, ThingLink for Education

Thanks for this tweet goes to Donna Baumbach, former edtech/edmedia professor at UCF in Orlando.

This is huge news---Guardian children's fiction prize goes to Rebecca Stead

Thanks to Children's Bookshelf of Publishers Weekly for this tweet.


  1. Love your posts! I look forward to these now as they recap for me so I don't feel like I miss anything! Thank you for writing these. :-D

    1. Thank you, Nancy. I'm glad that you are able to use what I've gathered here. You are most welcome.

  2. You always have such a great collection of resources and ideas to share! I hope your students, teachers, administrators and parents enjoy your blog and use it as much as I do! Thanks!

    1. Thank you, Donna. I hope they do too! And you are very welcome.