Quote of the Month

When love and skill work together, expect a miracle. John Ruskin

Saturday, December 8, 2012

Twitterville Talk #78

To tell you the truth I could hardly keep up this week with all the news happening in the world of books and reading, education and technology.  Enjoy what I have gathered and don't forget to look for the giveaway.  Make time for reading this weekend!

We have no way of knowing exactly what our students' lives are like between the time they leave school and arrive the next morning.  But what we do know is they have a resilience, a hugeness of heart, that is amazing.  This video will touch you, remind you.

Thanks to Melissa Taylor, mom, teacher, blogger at Imagination Soup, and writer for this tweet.

Fans of Calvin and Hobbes can rejoice, UPDATE:  This Delightful Calvin and Hobbes Search Engine Is Here To Stay.  I don't know about you but I am grinning from ear to ear.

Thanks to Matthew Holm, co-creator of the Babymouse and Squish books for this tweet.

A group of authors/illustrators have taken the traditional and given it a futuristic twist.  View some of the images from their graphic novel, Once Upon A Time... Machine.

Thanks go to HuffPostBooks for this tweet.

With or without technology, this is pretty much true---7 Habits Of Highly Effective Teachers Who Use Technology

Thanks to Steve of Bongo LLP for this tweet.

Have you tried the Ezra Jack Keats website activities?  I know someone who thinks they are pretty engaging.

Here is another splendid list filled with terrific titles---New York Public Library Children's Books 2012: 100 Titles For Reading And Sharing

The 2012 Best Books Lists at Watch. Connect. Read. have been updated.

Get ready to cast your vote for The TIME FOR KIDS Person of the Year.  R. J. Palacio author of Wonder is one of the nominees.

Thanks to John Schumacher, teacher librarian, blogger at Watch. Connect. Read and Library Journal Movers & Shakers 2011 for these tweets.

Yes, indeed the 2012 Nerdy Book Club Award Nominees have been announced.  The categories are:  Picture Books-Fiction, Picture Books-Nonfiction, Early Reader/Chapter Books, Graphic Novels, Poetry, Middle Grade and Young Adult Nonfiction, Middle Grade Fiction, and Young Adult Fiction.  We will have two week to get reading before the voting begins.

Thanks to Donalyn Miller, fourth grade teacher at Peterson Elementary in Fort Worth, Texas and the author of The Book Whisperer:  Awakening the Inner Reader in Every Child for this tweet.

Take a peek at the Librarian Preview: Chronicle Books (Spring/summer 2013) put together by
Elizabeth Bird, New York Public Library's Youth Materials Collections Specialist and blogger at A Fuse #8 Production.

Thanks so much for this post and for the tweet.

There's a whole lot of fun happening at Stephen McCranie's website to celebrate the book birthday of Belly Flop!  Create and share to win a variety of prizes.

Thanks to Stephanie McCranie for another new book and this tweet.

This is fantastic!  Free posters of A trained librarian is a powerful search engine with a heart.

Thanks to Joyce Valenza, teacher librarian and blogger at NeverEndingSearch.

He's spotted another great resource--Infographic:  "History of the Christmas Tradition"

Here are a couple more Two Nice Christmas Resources.

Thanks to Larry Ferlazzo of Larry Ferlazzo's Websites of the Day... for these tweets.

The winners were announced for the Goodreads Choice Awards!

Many thanks to Jennifer Reed, teacher librarian and blogger at Reederama.

Debbie Ridpath Ohi illustrator of the charming I'm Bored written by Michael Ian Black will reply to letters sent to her by snail mail.  She's waiting for teachers to get their students writing to her.

Thanks for this very generous offer and this tweet.

Nothing could be more perfect than this one and only The Caldecott Medal Infographic created by Travis Jonker teacher librarian and blogger at 100 Scope Notes, recently moved to the School Library Journal site.  If you can tell me in the comments below the two people who have won the Caldecott Medal the most times I will send you books by two other Caldecott Honor winners, David Small's The Quiet Place (authored by his wife Sarah Stewart) and Olivia Helps With Christmas by Ian Falconer.

This is huge--gigantic--news.  Porter and The Steads: An Unusual Three Book Deal

Thanks to Travis Jonker for these tweets.

This is so much fun!  Reading Rainbow remix will make you feel like a kid again.

Thanks to Macmillan Kids for this tweet.

YALSA Announces 2013 Nonfiction Award Finalists!

YALSA Announces 2013 Morris Award Finalists!

Thanks to YALSA The Hub for these announcements and tweets.

To continue Candlewick Press's daily We Believe In Picture Books here is a video by author Kate DiCamillo on reading.

The Horn Book Fanfare 2012  which is their choices for the best children's and young adult books of the year has been released.  It most certainly has been a great year for outstanding books.

Thanks to Roger Sutton at The Horn Book for this tweet.

This is a nice list.  14 Holiday Websites For Your Students

Thanks to Jennifer LaGarde teacher librarian and blogger at The Adventures of Library Girl for this tweet.

Brain Pickings has released her list of The Best Illustrated Children's Books and Picturebooks of 2012.

Thanks for this tweet go to Debbie Alvarez, teacher librarian currently in Hong Kong and blogger at  The Styling Librarian.

In light of their collaboration on a new book title (I can hardly wait) read this Q & A With Gary Paulsen and Jim Paulsen.

Thanks to Randon House Kids for this tweet.

Lucky for us all---Edinburgh Book Sculptor Returns

Thanks to Scholastic for this tweet.

Here are a few of my favorite quotations and tweets of the week.

No comments:

Post a Comment